An open letter to toxic people

 

poison-1481596_960_720

 

You know who you are.

What happened in your lives that made you so bitter and twisted?

Are your lives so devoid of love and happiness that you have to try and destroy others’?

I pity you, I really do.

I have raised my children as a single parent, and I have raised them well. And no…it wasn’t a situation of my own doing as you so succinctly put. Once trust is gone, it’s gone forever.

I have brought my children up to be kind, honest, gentle, loving people and now, in adulthood, they are living up to that. It’s all in the upbringing you see.

I have never advocated racism, or hatred, or bigotry…it’s a shame the same can’t be said for everyone, wouldn’t you agree?

Is your life so empty that you have to get your kicks from stalking other people’s lives and selectively repeating the bits you think will cause the most damage? Well, if that’s the case I’m sorry but you wasted your time…the damage was already done, by another toxic person.

It took me 47 years to learn to let go of toxicity, but my children have learnt by my mistakes and caught on a lot quicker than me.

You see, they are good people and they know that. And that knowledge that they are decent human beings is what gives them peace, and the ability to live their own lives and be who they want to be.

Toxic people, on the other hand, have a deep dislike of themselves, and project that onto others – it doesn’t matter who it is. And that’s what you are – toxic, poisonous and a drain on happiness.

Instead of obsessing about other people’s lives, you should be working on your own because believe me…yours is far from perfect. Put that energy into raising your own children.

They do say that people in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones – with what I know about you and yours I could shatter every fragile wall in your house, but I won’t. Not to protect you, but to protect the few people in your circle who are worthy of my time and consideration. Actually, not even a few, just the one.

Please, do yourselves and your children a favour, and look closer to home. Work on your own lives and you won’t feel the need to stalk others’. Don’t raise them to carry on spreading the poison; instead lead by example.

Your vitriol and self-loathing have no place in our lives – we have dealt with far more toxicity than you could ever produce, you are mere amateurs in the game.

Take your games somewhere else.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

