Dad

dad

Usually, my articles on Suburban Misfit Mom are tongue-in-cheek, but World Cancer Day seemed the perfect opportunity to remember the man who gave me my love of books, of libraries, and of the world. My Dad. Read the full article here.

“Saturday was World Cancer Day.
Cancer.

C for Cancer. C is for Cruel and Callous, for Crummy, Crappy and another word I won’t use.
That one word, those two syllables which change your entire life. In the one second it takes to hear that word, your entire world can be turned upside down and inside out, and nothing will ever be the same again.

Cancer steals your innocence.

I can distinctly remember the day I found out that my Dad had cancer. I was in my late teens, and working in a printing shop. My Dad had been to the hospital and I was waiting to hear how his appointment had gone. Impatience got the better of me and I called home. My Mum answered the phone and I knew – I knew by her breathing, before she even spoke.”

Leave a Reply

